

CALIFORNIA STATE UNIVERSITY, FULLERTON

ACADEMIC SENATE
AGENDA
AUGUST 30, 2012

ASD 12-111

11:30 AM - 1:00 PM

Pollak Library North 130

- I. CALL TO ORDER
- II. URGENT BUSINESS
- III. PARLIAMENTARY TIP OF THE DAY
- IV. SPECIAL ELECTION(s) EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE
 - Vice Chair [replacing Steve Walk]
 - Other(s), if needed

V. ANNOUNCEMENTS

5.1 In Memoriam

Kenneth L. Goodhue-McWilliams, Ph.D. Emeritus Professor - Department of Biological Science

5.2 Other Announcements

VI. SPECIAL INTRODUCTIONS

Dr. Berenecea Johnson Eanes, Vice President - Student Affairs

Ms. Theresa (Tere) Mendoza, Acting Vice President - University Advancement

VII. TIMES APPROXIMATE

11:45 - 12:00 NOON

Topic: Associated Students, Inc. – Priorities for 2012-13

Presenters: Dwayne Mason, Jr. ASI President

Samuel Morales ASI Chief Administrative Officer

Yvette Loaeza ASI Board Chair

12:00 - 12:15 PM

Topic: WASC Update – Next Steps

Speaker: Ed Trotter, Acting Associate Vice President, Undergraduate Programs

VIII. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

8.1 ASD 12-100 Academic Senate Minutes 5-10-12 (Draft)

8.2 ASD 12-104 Academic Senate Minutes – Marathon Meeting 5-17-12 (Draft)

8.3 ASD 11-105 Academic Senate Minutes – Electoral Meeting 5-17-12 (Draft)

IX. CONSENT CALENDAR

- 9.1 ASD 12-103 Academic Senate Meeting Calendar 2012-2013
- 9.2 Nominees to Committees

NOMINEES TO STANDING COMMITTEES

ACADEMIC STANDARDS COMMITTEE (10 faculty)

Nominees: Sang June Oh (ECS); Lisa Winstead (EDUC); Kristi Kanel (HHD); Brad Starr (HUM);

Eve Himmelheber (ARTS)

Continuing: Jeanine Congalton (COMM); Mark Filowitz (CNSM); Denise Stanley (MCBE);

Alexandro Gradilla (SOC SCI); Brandit Copper (L/A/C/E)

CURRICULUM COMMITTEE (10 faculty)

Nominee: Pending (L/A/C/E)

Confirmed 5/17/12: Betty Chavis (MCBE); Binod Tiwari (ECS); Alain Bourget (CNSM); Pamella Oliver (HHD);

Cynthia Gautreau (EDUC); Eileen Walsh (SOC SCI); Debra Lockwood (ARTS);

Riccardo de Los Rios (COMM); Renae Bredin (HUM)

ELECTIONS COMMITTEE (5 faculty)

Nominees: Rebecca Otten (HHD); Carol Ames (COMM); Robert Mead (MCBE)

Continuing: Adolfo Prieto (L/A/C/E); Robey Callahan (SOC SCI)

EXTENDED EDUCATION COMMITTEE (10 faculty)

Nominees: Sean Cochran (L/A/C/E); Mohammad Bhuiyan (MCBE); Tenzin Dorjee (COMM);

Binod Tiwari (ECS); Reyes Fidalgo (HUM); Megan Tommerup (CNSM)

Continuing: Bill Beam (HHD); Elizabeth Pillsworth (SOC SCI); Erica Bowers (EDUC);

Mark Goodrich (ARTS)

FACULTY DEVELOPMENT CENTER BOARD (10 faculty)

Nominees: Kristin Stang (EDUC); Patricia Schneider-Zioga (HUM); Brenda Bowser (SOC SCI);

Elizabeth Holster (ARTS); Ying-Chiao Tsao (COMM)

Continuing: Traci Statler (HHD; Pradeep Nair (ECS); Amybeth Cohen (CNSM); Yashu Liang (L/A/C/E);

Yi Jiang (MCBE)

INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY COMMITTEE (10 faculty)

Nominee: Colleen Greene (L/A/C/E)

Confirmed 5/17/12 Jenny Zhang (MCBE); Loretta Donovan (EDUC); Leslie Grier (HHD); Karyl Ketchum (HUM);

Andi Stein (COMM); Charles Grieb (ARTS); Pam Fiber (SOC SCI); Bill Hoese (CNSM);

Chean Ngo (ECS)

INTERNATIONAL EDUCATION COMMITTEE (10 faculty)

Nominees: Rob Watson (ARTS); Coral Ohl (COMM); David Cheng (ECS); Brady Rhodes (CNSM);

Laichen Sun (SOC SCI)

Continuing: John Hickok (L/A/C/E); Suzanne Robinson (EDUC); Saul Tobias (HUM); Yue Liu (MCBE);

Matthew Llewellyn (HHD)

INTERNSHIPS AND SERVICE LEARNING COMMITTEE (10 faculty)

Nominees: Mark Ramont (ART); Pamela Caldwell (COMM); Pete Evanow (MCBE); Kiran George (ECS);

Lezlee Hinesmon-Matthews (SOC SCI)

Continuing: Janice Myck-Wayne (EDUC); Kathleen Webster (HHD); Diane Clemens-Knott (CNSM);

Chris Ruiz-Velasco (HUM); Anne Petrossian (L/A/C/E)

LIBRARY (10 faculty)

Nominees: Marc Dickey (ARTS); James Choi (ECS); Sharon Chappell (EDUC);

Kamal Hamidieh (CNSM); Andrea Patterson (HUM); Peter Fashing (SOC SCI)

Continuing: Andi Stein (COMM); Danny Kim (HHD); Cynthia Bruns (L/A/C/E);

Jose Miranda-Lopez (MCBE)

PLANNING, RESOURCE & BUDGET COMMITTEE (10 faculty)

Nominee: Emily Bonney (HUM)

Confirmed 5/17/12: Lisa Kirtman (EDUC); Bob Mead (MCBE); Michael Shafae (ECS); Michael DeMars (L/A/C/E);

Kari Knutson Miller (HHD); John Carroll (SOC SCI); Philippe Perebinossoff (COMM);

Paul DeLand (CNSM); Bill Meyer (ARTS)

STUDENT ACADEMIC LIFE COMMITTEE (10 faculty)

Nominees: Kenneth Faller (ECS); Gary Ruud (COMM); Joe Garcia (HHD); Pending (L/A/C/E);

Mark Goodrich (ARTS); Paul Levesque (HUM); Pending (CNSM)

Continuing: Chiara Gratton-Lavoie (MCBE); Karen Stocker (SOC SCI); Debra Cote (EDUC)

UNIVERSITY ADVANCEMENT COMMITTEE (10 faculty)

Nominees: Shelly Arsneault (SOC SCI); Howard Forman (MCBE); Bob Ammann (L/A/C/E);

Nicholas Henning (EDUC); Joshua Yang (HHD)

Continuing: Xtine Burrough (COMM); Lana Dalley (HUM); Debra Noble (ARTS); Susamma Barua (ECS);

William Laton (CNSM)

NOMINEES TO SEARCH COMMITTEES

SEARCH COMMITTEE - ATHLETIC DIRECTOR

Nominees: Michael Perez (SOC SCI); Scott Hewitt (CNSM); Toya Wyatt (COMM)

NOMINEES TO MISCELLANEOUS COMMITTEES

ACADEMIC APPEALS BOARD

Nominee: Brent Foster (COMM)

ALCOHOL ADVISORY BOARD

Nominee: Kristi Kanel (HHD)

ATHLETICS ADVISORY COUNCIL

Nominee: Christina Smith (ARTS)

Continuing: James Ruby (HHD); Valerie O'Regan (SOC SCI)

AUXILIARY SERVICES CORP. (ASC)

Nominee: Barry Pasternack (MCBE)

Continuing: Brady Rhodes (CNSM); Diana Guerin (HHD)

BICYCLE COMMITTEE

Nominees: Fatima Alali (MCBE); Lynda Randall (EDUC)

Continuing: Bill Beam (HHD)

CONSTITUTION COMMITTEE

Nominee: Emily Bonney (HUM)
Continuing: Irene Matz (COMM)

FOOD ADVISORY COMMITTEE

Nominee: Yingdi Wang (MCBE)

Continuing: Christina Carroll-Pavia (L/A/C/E)

HONORS BOARD

Nominee: Martin Bonsangue (CNSM)

Continuing: John Koegel (ARTS); Emily Erickson (COMM); Craig McConnell (HUM);

Mark Redhead (SOC SCI)

TITAN STUDENT CENTER GOVERNING BOARD

Nominee: Jianxin (James) Gong (MCBE)
Continuing: Lynn Sargeant (SOC SCI)

UNIVERSITY BOARD ON WRITING PROFICIENCY

Nominees: Michele Mouttapa (HHD); Barbra Erickson (SOC SCI)

Continuing: Janet Eyring (HUM)

- 9.3 ASD 12-112 Ratification of A.S. Business by Executive Committee, Summer 2012
- X. CHAIR'S REPORT distributed electronically
- XI. STATEWIDE ACADEMIC SENATE REPORT
- XII. NEW BUSINESS
- XIII. ADJOURNMENT