

CALIFORNIA STATE UNIVERSITY, FULLERTON

ACADEMIC SENATE

ASD 17-143

AGENDA rev.

SEPTEMBER 21, 2017

11:30 АМ - 12:50 РМ

Pollak Library North 130

I. CALL TO ORDER

In Memoriam

Lori Phelps, Professor of Human Services

II. URGENT BUSINESS

- added
- 2.1 ASD 17-145 Resolution on the Implementation of Executive Order 1100 General Education Breadth Requirements - *Primum non noncere*

III. ANNOUNCEMENTS

A	Academic Senate Special Election to fill vacancies in Humanities and Communications on the Professional Leaves Committee.	eVoting will take place: M, September 25 th , 7:00 AM ^{thru} R, September 28 th , 4:00 PM
A	Academic Affairs/Academic Senate Retreat, Fall 2017	Friday, September 29, 21017 ASC Board Room, Lower Level 1121 N. State College Blvd., Fullerton, CA
A	Academic Senate Special Election for Part-time Senate Seat	eVoting will take place the end of October or early November
>	Fall Faculty Athletics Appreciation Event (RSVP deadline is Wednesday, Sept. 20th by 5:00 pm)	Tuesday, October 3 rd @ 6:00 pm Location: Titan Gymnasium (flyer in Dropbox)
À	CSUF Fall 2017 Faculty/Emeriti Theatre Event "Cry Baby the Musical"	Sunday, November 5 th @ 2:00 pm Location: Little Theatre (flyer in Dropbox)

IV. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

4.1 ASD 17-144 Academic Senate Minutes 9-7-17 (Draft)

V. CONSENT CALENDAR

5.1 NOMINEES TO COMMITTEES

NOMINEES TO STANDING COMMITTEES

ACADEMIC STANDARDS COMMITTEE (10 faculty)

Nominees: Mark Filowitz (NSM)

Confirmed 9/7: Lisa Draskovich-Long (ARTS); Kavin Tsang (HHD); Bradley Starr (HUM); Fernando Rodriguez-Valls (EDUC); Sudarshan Kurwadkar (ECS); Lauren Fournier (L/A/C/E); Stephen O'Connor (SOC SCI); Zac Johnson (COMM); Arsenio Staer (MCBE)

CURRICULUM COMMITTEE (10 faculty)

Nominees: Craig McConnell (HUM); Pending (L/A/C/E)

Confirmed 8/24 Robert Mead (MCBE); Phoolendra Mishra (ECS); Nick Henning (EDUC); Eileen Walsh (SOS SCI); Fred Kinney (ARTS); Paula Hudson (NSM); Koren Fisher (HHD); Rebecca Sheehan (COMM)

FACULTY RESEARCH POLICY COMMITTEE (10 faculty)

Nominees: Fernando Rodríguez-Valls (EDUC)

Confirmed 8/24: Margaret Garber (HUM); Barbara Miller (L/A/C/E); Robert Robinson (SOC SCI); HyeKyeung Seung (COMM); Nikolas Nikolaidis (NSM); Alvin Rangel-Alvarado (ARTS); Kiran George (ECS); Maria Casanova (MCBE); Kristi Kanel (HHD)

GENERAL EDUCATION COMMITTEE (10 faculty)

Nominees: Jie Tian (L/A/C/E)

<u>Confirmed 8/24</u>: Greg Childers (NSM); Tenzin Dorjee (COMM); Jim Taulli (ARTS); Denise Stanley (MCBE); Thomas Fujita-Rony (HUM); Kathryn Glasswell (EDUC); Brenda Bowser (SOC SCI); Michele Wood (HHD); Pratanu Ghosh (ECS)

UNIVERSITY ADVANCEMENT COMMITTEE (10 faculty)

Nominees: Reves Fidalgo (HUM); Pending (ARTS)

<u>Confirmed 9/7</u> <u>Confirmed 9/7</u> <u>Richard (William) Laton (NSM); Pratanu Ghosh (ECS); Benjamin Cawthra (SOC SCI);</u> <u>Garrett Hart (COMM); Daniel Cavagnaro (MCBE)</u>

VI. CHAIR'S REPORT - Written report distributed on 9-15-17.

VII. INTERIM PROVOST REPORT

VIII. STATEWIDE ACADEMIC SENATE REPORT

IX. ASI REPORT

X. CFA REPORT

XI. UNFINISHED BUSINESS

11.1 ASD 17-137 EO 1100

XII. NEW BUSINESS

12.1 ASD 17-138 UPS 211.100 Appointment of Department Chairs and Vice-Chairs

XIII. ADJOURNMENT