

## CALIFORNIA STATE UNIVERSITY, FULLERTON



April 27, 2018 ASD 18-86

To: CSUF Academic Senate Electorate

From: Pete Evanow, Chair

**Elections Committee** 

Subject: Results of April 23-26, 2018, All-University Elections, Spring 2018

Electorate Break-Down	Total	Voted	Participation Rate
Full-Time Constituents	1,223	536	44%
Part-Time Faculty	1,248	68	5%
Full-Time Staff	1,365	372	27%
Total Electorate	3,836	976	25%

## **ACADEMIC SENATE SEATS**

## **CONSTITUENCY**

Administration	[One 2-year] 2020	
Candidates	Votes	Results
Write-in: Arnold Holland	31 votes	Elected

Arts		[Two 2-year] 2020
Candidates	Votes	Results
Katherine Powers	25 votes	Elected
Bill Meyer	20 votes	Elected
Write-in	1 vote	

Communications		[Two 2-year] 2020
Candidates	Votes	Results
Erika M. Thomas	18 votes	Elected
Christina Ceisel	16 votes	Elected
Write-in	1 vote	

Education		[Two 2-year] 2020
Candidates	Votes	Results
Carolina Valdez	43 votes	Elected
Ron Oliver	43 votes	Elected
Write-in	1 vote	

Health & Human Development		[One 2-year] 2020
Candidates	Votes	Results
Kavin Tsang	39 votes	Elected
Shana Alex Charles	26 votes	
Write-in	0 votes	

Humanities		[One 2-year] 2020
Candidates	Votes	Results
Reyes Fidalgo	36 votes	Elected
Write-in	0 votes	

Social Sciences		[Two 2-year] 2020
Candidates	Votes	Results
Kathleen Preston	62 votes	Elected
John Patton	52 votes	Elected
Write-in	2 votes	

<b>Natural Sciences &amp; Mathematics</b>		[One 2-year] 2020
Candidates	Votes	Results
Merri Lynn Casem	66 votes	Elected
Write-in	3 votes	

Mihaylo College of Business & Economics		[One 2-year] 2020
Candidates Votes		Results
Robert Mead	43 votes	Elected
Write-in	2 votes	

Part-Time Faculty		[Two 1-year] 2019
Candidates	Votes	Results
Valerie Sun (EDUC)	60 votes	Elected
Write-in: Peggy Shoar (HHD)	16 votes	Elected
Write-in: others	5 votes	

Full-Time Staff		[Two 1-year] 2019
Candidates	Votes	Results
Nina Garcia	266 votes	Elected
Matthew Badal	254 votes	Elected
Sue Maddox	98 votes	
Write-in	11 votes	

At-Large Seats	[Department]	[Constituency]	Votes	[Five 3-year]	Term
Alexandro José Gradilla	Chicana/o Studies	Social Sciences	314	Elected [2021]	3-year
Robert A. McLain	History	Social Sciences	284	<b>Elected</b> [2021]	3-year
Jessie Peissig	Psychology	Social Sciences	283	<b>Elected</b> [2020]	2-year
Write-in			26		

**Election Participation by Constituency** 

Administration		44 voted / 81 total – 54% participation
Arts		30 voted / 90 total – 33% participation
Communications		21 voted / 79 total – 27% participation
Engineering & Computer Science	No Election	20 voted / 67 total – 30% participation
Education		55 voted / 76 total – 72% participation
Health & Human Development		69 voted / 157 total – 44% participation
Humanities	-	46 voted / 83 total – 55% participation
L/A/C/E [Library/Athletics/Counseling & Psych Svcs/Univ. Ext Ed]	No Election	19 voted / 73 total – 26% participation
Mihaylo College of Business & Economics		55 voted / 172 total – 32% participation
Natural Sciences & Mathematics		69 voted / 124 total – 56% participation
Part-Time Faculty		68 voted / 1,248 total – 5% participation
Social Sciences		89 voted / 172 total – 52% participation
Full-Time Staff		372 voted / 1,365 total – 27% participation
Student Affairs	No Election	19 voted / 49 total – 39% participation

NOTE: Due to a lack of clarity in the by-laws with respect to the required vote threshold to win an election to a General Committee, any General Committee vacancy without a clear majority shall remain pending until the Election Committee prepares language to submit to the Academic Senate for approval prior to the next Special Election (scheduled for Fall 2018).

## GENERAL COMMITTEES

FACULTY PERSONNEL COMMITTEE					
Candidates	Term	Constituency		Votes	Results
Pending	2-year [2020]	Arts	Write-in: others	<b>0</b> 16	Pending
Pending	1-year [2019]	Communications	Write-in: others	<b>0</b> 6	Pending
Janice Myck-Wayne*	3-year [2021]	Education	Write-in	<b>262</b> 0	Elected
Mikyong Kim-Goh*	3-year [2021]	Health & Human Development	Write-in	<b>257</b> 0	Elected
Fatima Alali*	3-year [2021]	Mihaylo College of Business & Economics	Write-in	<b>266</b> 2	Elected
John Hickok*	3-year [2021]	Library	Write-in	<b>261</b> 2	Elected

PROFESSIONAL LEAVES COMMITTEE					
Candidates	Term	Constituency		Votes	Results
John Koegel*	3-year [2021]	Arts	Write-in	<b>283</b> <sub>4</sub>	Elected
Carolyn Coal*	3-year [2021]	Communications	Write-in	<b>268</b> 1	Elected
Shawn Wang*	2-year [2020]	Engineering & Computer Science	Write-in	<b>269</b>	Elected
Suzanne Robertson*	3-year [2021]	Health & Human Development	Write-in	<b>277</b> 0	Elected
Ajay Bhootra*	1-year [2019]	Mihaylo College of Business & Economics	Write-in	<b>273</b>	Elected
Adolfo Prieto*	2-year [2020]	Library	Write-in	<b>277</b> 2	Elected

Candidates	Term	Constituency		Votes	Results
Katherine Powers*	2-year [2020]	Arts	Write-in	<b>315</b>	Elected
Rebecca Sheehan*	2-year [2020]	Communications	Write-in	<b>265</b> 1	Elected
Pending	1-year [2019]	Education	Write-in: others	<b>0</b> 31	Pending
Katherine Bono*	2-year [2020]	Health & Human Development	Write-in	<b>279</b> 2	Elected
Kevin Lambert*	1-year [2019]	Humanities	Write-in	<b>271</b>	Elected
Zair Ibragimov*	2-year [2020]	Natural Sciences & Mathematics	Write-in	<b>265</b> 4	Elected
Steven Chen*	2-year [2020]	Mihaylo College of Business & Economics	Write-in	<b>268</b>	Elected

Thank you to the constituents who participated in this year's election. Congratulations to the newly elected senators and our appreciation to the nominees for their interest in serving.